CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on the State of the Union Address

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to President Barack Obama’s State of the Union address tonight, Center for American Progress President and CEO Neera Tanden issued the following statement:

Tonight, President Obama put forward a bold plan to promote shared prosperity for all Americans. While conservatives scramble to repackage stale top-down policies, the president affirmed that we must instead strengthen the middle class in order to energize our economy. Above all, the president presented a profoundly hopeful vision for the future—a future in which all children can attend preschool and are safe from the threat of gun violence, a future in which we have fixed our broken immigration and voting rights systems, and a future in which America leads the world in developing new energy technology and stopping catastrophic climate change.

Related resources:

To speak with CAP experts, please contact:

PRINT:
Madeline Meth
mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277

TV:
Lindsay Hamilton
lhamilton@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6250

RADIO:
Anne Shoup
ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org