CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Angela Maria Kelley on the State of the Union Address

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to President Barack Obama’s State of the Union address this evening, Angela Maria Kelley, Vice President for Immigration Policy and Advocacy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

Tonight, President Obama once again staked out his strong support for immigration reform. He made it clear that fixing our immigration system so that everyone is playing by the same rules is not only the right thing to do—it is the economically wise thing to do. Creating a road map for our nation’s 11 million undocumented immigrants to earn the privilege of citizenship will grow the economy, stabilize families, and strengthen the middle class. But that policy imperative has been clear for years. What is different now, and what was reflected in the president’s speech, is that the political imperatives behind immigration reform have now merged with the need for smart policy solutions. The American public overwhelmingly supports common-sense reform. Democrats in Congress have promised to deliver it. And it is in the Republican Party’s existential self-interest to put the issue behind them. We have a lot of work ahead of us, but with both parties making this issue a priority, we can make history this year—together.”

To speak with Angela Maria Kelley, please contact Crystal Patterson at 202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org