CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Economist Heather Boushey on January Jobs Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Heather Boushey, Senior Economist at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of January’s employment figures:

There are more encouraging data from the job market as employers reported adding 157,000 jobs in January, on top of large upward revisions in November and December. The job market will not keep adding jobs, however, if the economy continues to shrink. Impending government cutbacks in the sequestration threaten growth, as evidenced in the report earlier this week that lower government spending pulled down economic growth in the fourth quarter. Slower growth directly threatens future employment gains.

To speak with Heather Boushey about the monthly jobs report, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org