CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on President Obama’s Naming Denis McDonough as Chief of Staff

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to President Barack Obama’s decision to name former CAP Senior Fellow Denis McDonough as chief of staff to the White House, Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

The president’s selection of Denis McDonough as White House chief of staff is great news for the country. As a former colleague at CAP, Denis is a shrewd thinker, smart policy innovator, and cares deeply that America reach its promise for all its citizens. Denis has been a leader in national security and foreign policy, and a tireless advocate for progressive values here and abroad. We wish him the best as he takes on this important endeavor leading the White House in President Obama’s second term.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org