CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Tanden and Korb on Lifting Ban on Women Serving in Combat

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Defense Secretary Leon Panetta today lifted the ban on women serving in combat, and the Center for American Progress released the following statements from CAP President Neera Tanden and Senior Fellow Lawrence J. Korb:

“Today marks one more critical step for advancing equality for all Americans,” said Tanden. “I am tremendously proud to see that now both men and women will be able to serve on the front lines in combat. I commend Secretary Panetta and the Department of Defense for ending the ban on women in combat, and for helping break through an important barrier that women face.”

“The wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have shown that the difference between being assigned to a ground combat unit or attached to the unit is a distinction without a difference,” said Korb. “Dropping the ban on women in combat was the right thing to do, and it’s long overdue. Perhaps most importantly, it will put women in the military on equal footing with men when competing for leadership positions and higher ranks.”

Related resources:

To speak with CAP experts, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org