CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Seth Hanlon on New GAO Report on Evaluating Tax Breaks

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Government Accountability Office published a new report this week developing a framework to critically evaluate “tax expenditures”—the more than $1 trillion in special exemptions, deductions, and credits in the tax code. Seth Hanlon, Director of Fiscal Reform at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

This new GAO report is extremely timely given the appetite in Congress for comprehensive tax reform. Given fiscal challenges and the perceived unfairness and inefficiency of the tax code, there is an urgent need to critically evaluate whether tax expenditures are serving their intended purpose in a cost-effective way.

The GAO’s framework for evaluating tax expenditures is similar to one proposed by the Center for American Progress in recent reports, including “Government Spending Undercover” and “Reviewing What Works: Evaluating Programs and Tax Expenditures.” CAP’s recent “Doing What Works” project emphasized the need to scrutinize the tax expenditure budget to achieve greater efficiency, fairness, and budget savings.

To speak with Seth Hanlon, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org