CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on NRA Press Conference

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement today in reaction to the National Rifle Association’s, or NRA, press conference:

You don’t take questions when you don’t have answers. In its sham “press conference,” the NRA leadership ducked responsibility for the epidemic of gun violence that their irresponsible advocacy has allowed. Americans, gun owners, and NRA members know we need to fix gun background checks and take military-grade weapons off the streets. It’s the NRA leadership, as demonstrated today, that opposes common-sense measures that will protect our children from the horrors of gun violence. Too many children have been lost, and it’s time for us to act.

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org