CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Korb on the Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Center for American Progress released the following statement from Senior Fellow Lawrence J. Korb on the passage of the FY 2013 National Defense Authorization Act:

With the passage of the FY 2013 National Defense Authorization Act, Congress has provided military commanders with a critical tool to prevent suicides and gun violence. In 2012 U.S. military personnel committed suicide at a rate of nearly one per day. Two-thirds of these deaths involved firearms.

Yet under a provision in the FY 2011 National Defense Authorization Act, military officers and health professionals were banned from even asking service members about firearms in their private possession, even in cases when the commander believes the service member to be at risk of harming him or herself.

By repealing this provision, Congress has ensured that Defense Department health professionals and commanding officers have the ability to inquire whether a service member possesses or plans to acquire a firearm if they believe the service member is at risk for suicide or causing harm to others.

This year, the Defense Department lost more men and women to suicide than to the war in Afghanistan. Congress should be commended for its efforts to ensure that commanding officers have all the tools they need to prevent self-harm, domestic violence, and mass shootings.

To speak with Lawrence J. Korb, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org