CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Dr. Christopher Lillis on the Benefits of the Environmental Protection Agency’s Announcement to Limit Soot Pollution

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Dr. Christopher Lillis, doctor of internal medicine and Board Member of Doctors for America, issued the following statement today in response to the Environmental Protection Agency’s decision to adopt stricter limits on soot pollution:

As a health professional, I commend the Environmental Protection Agency for finalizing an important rule that will result in innumerable benefits to public health. I have seen countless patients with emphysema and asthma whose health conditions have worsened due to soot pollution in our atmosphere. Reducing soot pollution also reduces tens of thousands of heart attacks. Today’s announcement is a breath of fresh air for doctors, asthma patients, and their loved ones.

Soot particles can lodge in the lungs when inhaled, causing serious health effects and increasing the risks of premature death, lung cancer, and asthma attacks. Putting a limit on emissions of particulate matter helps hold polluters accountable for the toxic chemicals that poison our air and leave people gasping.

To speak to Dr. Lillis, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

Related resources:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org