CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Conathan on NOAA Administrator Jane Lubchenco’s Tenure

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — As NOAA Administrator Jane Lubchenco announced today that she will step down from her position next February, the Center for American Progress released the following statement from Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy:

Jane Lubchenco’s tenure as NOAA administrator has proven the value of having an ocean scientist at the helm of our nation’s preeminent ocean science agency—something that has not always been the case. She has achieved tremendous success in the face of stark adversity, balancing the need to respond to environmental crises—most notably the 2010 BP oil spill—with implementing ongoing mandates like the legislative requirement to end overfishing, all while dealing with an ongoing budget crisis. Her successor will inherit a leaner, more efficient agency poised to meet our greatest ocean challenges from climate change and weather prediction to ongoing management of our invaluable marine resources.

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org