CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Heather Boushey on October Jobs Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Heather Boushey, Senior Economist at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of October’s employment figures:

October’s strong job gains, on top of upward revisions for August and September, show the resilience of the U.S. economy and are further proof that investing in the middle class has helped the economy and put the job market on a firm track to full recovery. For an economy now facing major headwinds from an austerity-choked Europe and a slowing China, 32 straight months of private-sector job growth is a major accomplishment. These job gains pulled more than half a million people into the labor force last month, which means the unemployment rate didn’t fall, but this is fundamentally an indicator of people’s greater optimism about finding a job.

To speak with Heather Boushey about the monthly jobs report, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org