CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Senseless Shooting of Six Sikh Men and Women

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In the wake of the shooting of six Sikh men and women at their place of worship, Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

On behalf of the Center for American Progress, I want to convey our shock and sadness at the senseless killing of six Sikh men and women at their place of worship, a temple in Oak Creek, Wisconsin. We deplore the hatred that led to these murders. America is a place made far greater because of its rich diversity; no community should be afraid in this country because they are different from others. Intolerance can become hate, which can drive violence, and we must guard against intolerance in all its forms. These victims were our brothers and sisters, and we mourn this tragic loss of life.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org