CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol M. Browner on U.S. Court of Appeals Climate Change Decision

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit today unanimously ruled in favor of the Environmental Protection Agency’s legal authority to limit industrial carbon pollution under the Clean Air Act to protect Americans’ health.  In response to this ruling, Carol M. Browner, former Environmental Protection Agency Administrator and Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

The Court’s decision should put an end, once and for all, to any questions about the EPA’s legal authority to protect us from dangerous industrial carbon pollution through the Clean Air Act, including vehicle emissions. This decision is a devastating blow to those who challenge the overwhelming scientific evidence of climate change and deny its impact on public health and welfare.

Coming on the heels of last week’s Senate defeat of a measure to block life-saving mercury air pollution protections, this historic decision is a win for every American and a win for clean air. Hopefully we can move forward in a bipartisan way to push for more solutions that protect public health and spur innovation and job creation.

To speak with CAP experts, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org