CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Aisha Moodie-Mills on the NAACP’s Endorsement of Marriage Equality

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Today the NAACP, an organization that has long been against efforts to discriminate against the LGBT community, endorsed marriage equality. Aisha Moodie-Mills, Advisor to the Center for American Progress on LGBT Policy and Racial Justice issued the following statement:

The NAACP has long been a staunch defender of justice for all people and their resolution today is a continuation of that legacy. Marriage equality is the defining civil rights issue of our time, and I applaud the NAACP for their vote today, and for their past opposition to efforts to codify discrimination against gay and transgender Americans into the law.

See Also:

To speak to a CAP expert, contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org