CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Vanessa Cardenas on the Census’s New Announcement that Children Under Age 1 Are Minorities, Changing Demographics Evident

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Census Bureau announced that most children under age 1 are minorities. Vanessa Cardenas, Director of Progress 2050, issued the following statement:

Today’s news on the Census numbers confirms what we known for a while: In the next few decades, there will not be an ethnic majority in our nation. The burning questions for us now are how well we are preparing and educating the next generation of Americans, and whether as a nation we will have the courage to make the necessary decisions today to ensure the wellbeing of our collective future. The success of children of color needs to be at the top of our list.

The new numbers also require us to pause and reflect about what kind of country we want to be 20, 30 years from now and are an urgent call for us to address the education, health care, and economic disparities that plague the communities that are growing the most. If we are successful in giving them the tools they need, the United States will be poised to be more innovative and more competitive in an increasingly globalized economy.

The following CAP experts are available:

To speak with CAP experts on this topic, please contact Laura Pereyra at 202.741.6258 or lpereyra@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org