CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Michael Ettlinger on the Small Business Common Application Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC) introduced the Small Business Common Application Act, a measure which will make it easier for emerging businesses to access the full range of federal programs, using a “common application” modeled after the common college application. The Center for American Progress last year first introduced the idea of a common application as part of our series of big ideas for small-business policy. Michael Ettlinger, Vice President for Economic Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

Giving small business a single form—and a single web portal—will reduce their paperwork burden so they can concentrate on what they do best: forming the backbone of American competitiveness and prosperity. The common application will also allow for better coordination among vital government programs that assist small businesses. We commend Sen. Hagan for taking the lead on this, and urge Congress to pass this bill.

See also:

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org