CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s David Min on the Announcement of a $26 Billion Mortgage Servicing Settlement

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C. – Today, David Min, Associate Director for Financial Markets Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement regarding the announcement of a settlement between a consortium of state attorneys general and the nation’s largest mortgage servicers over alleged misconduct in the processing of foreclosures:

Today’s $26 billion mortgage servicing settlement announcement brings the hope of long-awaited relief to American homeowners who have borne the brunt of the housing crisis. The agreement provides meaningful financial assistance to struggling homeowners, ensures that banks are not allowed off the hook for other lending and servicing violations, and holds accountable those responsible for protracting the effects of our recent housing crisis.

To speak with CAP experts on the issue, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org