CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Adam Hersh: GDP Figures Indicate Economy Needs Sustained Investment to Boost Demand and Growth

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.—Adam Hersh, Economist at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement in reaction to today’s GDP quarterly report:

There’s no word but miserable for today’s economic growth figures from the Department of Commerce. New data show that the U.S. economy ground to a halt in the first quarter of 2011, growing at 0.4 percent, while the economy barely moved forward in the second quarter, growing at 1.3 percent.

Data revisions indicate the economy is substantially weaker than previously thought, and still remains below its pre-recession peak. The economy can’t afford the economic uncertainty created by conservative members of Congress playing games of debt limit chicken. Lawmakers need to stand down on the debt limit before doing even more damage.

Nor can the economy afford a sharp fiscal contraction. Lawmakers should focus on expanding public investments in infrastructure, renewable energy systems, and the education of our kids and workforce. These investments can put people back to work today rebuilding the foundation of a competitive U.S. economy and strong middle class for the long run. That benefits us all.

To speak to Adam Hersh about today’s GDP numbers, please contact Laura Pereyra at lpereyra@americanprogress.org or at 202.203.8689.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org