CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Winnie Stachelberg Applauds White House Endorsement of Respect for Marriage Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Center for American Progress applauds the Obama administration’s endorsement today of the Respect for Marriage Act, or RMA, which would repeal the so-called Defense of Marriage Act, or DOMA, and released the following statement from Winnie Stachelberg, Senior Vice President for External Affairs at the Center for American Progress:

DOMA is a flagrantly discriminatory law that serves no good, rational, or useful purpose. It denies rights to gay couples and their families simply because of their sexual orientation. Passage of the RMA would represent a huge leap forward on the path toward full equality for same-sex couples in the United States. The administration’s support of the RMA is important and greatly welcomed.

The RMA would restore federal marriage benefits and protections for legally married same-sex couples and, in addition to repealing DOMA, would provide married same-sex couples with certainty that federal marriage benefits and protections would remain in place if a couple marries in a state where these marriages are legal but then moves or travels to a state where they are not currently legal or recognized.

National polls consistently show that a majority of the American people support allowing gay couples to marry.

To speak to CAP experts on this announcement, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org