CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Boushey: Today’s jobs numbers indicate a “holding pattern”

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, DC – Today, Heather Boushey, Senior Economist at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of October unemployment figures:

October marks the 10th straight month of private sector job gains, with the private sector adding 159,000 jobs this month. This is the strongest jobs gains since April. However, the unemployment rate remains stuck at 9.6 percent and another 254,000 workers dropped out of the labor force in October, an indication of the challenges that the unemployed continue to have finding work in this job market.

The Federal Reserve’s quantitative easing should help to keep interest rates low and boost exports, but the nearly 15 million unemployed—with four-in-ten of those out of work and searching for a job for at least six months—continue to need access to long-term unemployment benefits. Congress should act quickly this month to maintain benefits for the unemployed before they expire on November 30. And it should commit to this policy until the unemployment rate comes back down.

To speak to Boushey about the monthly jobs report, contact Megan Smith at 202-741-6346 or msmith@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org