CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Statement: John Podesta on White House Meeting on Immigration

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Statement: John Podesta on White House Meeting on Immigration

Washington, DC— The meeting held today at the White House today signals the beginning of what we hope is a full-fledged effort to make immigration reform a reality. President Barack Obama should be commended for moving the ball forward on this issue despite the naysayers who say that it can’t be done.

As a nation, we can no longer afford to avoid the pressing issues facing us—be it healthcare, energy or immigration reform. For far too long, we have avoided making tough choices by blaming legislative inertia on partisan gridlock. Americans won’t tolerate excuses any longer. They voted for change and they want their leaders to solve tough problems, not kick them down the road.

Immigration reform is a central piece of the puzzle and it impacts nearly every major policy challenge confronting the nation. It is urgent that we advance the nation’s interests by passing tough, fair, and practical immigration reform. What Americans want are realistic, common-sense solutions that will advance our economic recovery by increasing tax revenues, enforcing labor standards, lifting wages and leveling the playing field for all workers.

We look forward to working with the president and leaders in Congress from both sides of the aisle to enact immigration reform.

John Podesta is the President and CEO of the Center for American Progress.

For more information see CAP’s Principles for Immigration Reform.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org