CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Podesta on New Climate Change Report from United States Global Change Research Program

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

“The report out today from the United States Global Change Research Program makes it even clearer that we must act now to combat climate change. Nothing makes the case for action like a regional projection of the harm climate change will do in our communities. The effects will hit every region of our country and be felt in every industry if we do not take action. America and our partners around the globe must embark on a path to reduce global emissions and seize the chance to curb the impacts predicted by this report. Congress has the chance now to take a big step in that direction by passing the aggressive climate legislation currently in the House which will create jobs, combat climate change and reduce our dependence on foreign oil."

John Podesta is the President and CEO of the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org