CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Expert Daniel J. Weiss on Pence Energy Plan

On the same day that a new study shows huge job-creating potential of clean energy, Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN) proposes to plow more money into the same failed Bush-Cheney energy policies of the past

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

“The American Energy Act is déjà vu all over again. It would continue the failed Bush-Cheney energy policies that caused the average American family’s energy costs to go up by $1,100. This plan would invest $800 billion for new nuclear plants paid for by taxpayers—it is too risky for Wall Street.

"We need a new direction that invests in creating millions of clean-energy jobs, lowering energy costs, moving us off foreign oil, and rebuilding our economic competitiveness around the clean-energy technologies of the future.”

Daniel J. Weiss is a Senior Fellow and Director of Climate Strategy at American Progress.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org