CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Statement: Bush’s Budget Further Damages U.S. Health Care System

Statement by Karen Davenport and Meredith King, health policy director and health policy analyst for the Center for American Progress

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – In his 2009 federal budget proposal, President Bush once again offered dangerous policy prescriptions that would further damage our broken health care system. This budget, if enacted, would undermine critical public health insurance programs by cutting Medicare by $178 billion over the next five years, largely by reducing support to hospitals that serve needy communities and cutting Medicaid by $17 billion over five years. Additionally, this budget destabilizes employer-sponsored health insurance.

The Bush budget features disruptive changes to the private health insurance market, including changes to the deductibility of employer-provided health insurance provided by employers. This change would weaken the employer-based health coverage system and leave millions without coverage. His additional proposals promote risky association health plans as an alternative way to purchase coverage and expanded use of health savings accounts, which saddle enrollees with higher out-of-pocket responsibilities.

These approaches, which are consistent with proposals advanced by leading conservative presidential candidates, will merely serve to undermine the nation’s existing public and private coverage options, without touching the rising costs of health care and the increasing number of uninsured Americans.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org