CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on Secretary Sebelius’ Legacy and the Success of the Affordable Care Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – In response to the announcement that Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius will step down from her post, Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden issued the following statement:

I commend Secretary Sebelius for five years of dedicated service to the Obama administration and to the country. During this time, she presided over the largest expansion of health care in half a century to more than 10 million Americans who now have the life-saving healthcare they need and deserve. Insurance companies can no longer deny coverage because of a pre-existing condition, put limits on the amount of care you can receive, or charge women more simply because of gender. Secretary Sebelius’ legacy will be defined by her tireless advocacy and the millions of people who now have access to affordable health care.

To speak with experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org