CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: The White House, CAP, and the U.S. Department of Labor to Hold White House Summit on Working Families June 23

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the Center for American Progress announced that it will partner with the White House and the U.S. Department of Labor to convene the White House Summit on Working Families on June 23, 2014. The summit will focus on elevating the ongoing national conversation about making today’s workplaces work for everyone and ensuring that women have a fair shot to help their families succeed.

“We know that when women succeed in the workplace, our families and our overall economy thrive,” said CAP President Neera Tanden. “We are excited that CAP will join the White House and U.S. Department of Labor in co-sponsoring this important summit because we know that helping to ensure that parents can balance their responsibilities at home and at work will be critical for companies’ bottom lines and the country’s economic growth.”

The Center for American Progress has developed innovative policy ideas—from paid leave to universal pre-kindergarten—that address the realities faced by working parents who are struggling to balance the demands of their jobs with the needs of their families.

To speak with CAP experts about the White House Summit on Working Families, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org