CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: New Infographic: Who Does the House GOP Stand With?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — It’s been almost five months since the Senate passed its immigration reform bill, S. 744. Each day that the House of Representatives refuses to take up reform costs the country $37 million, with more than $5 billion in potential revenue lost so far. And just yesterday, House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) announced that House Republicans would never agree to go to a conference committee with the Senate bill so that the two houses can work out their differences. This statement came only a few days after House leadership reaffirmed that they will not take any votes on immigration this year. By not doing so, House GOP leaders are protecting the interests of a small pocket of extremists and rejecting the will of a supermajority of Americans across the political spectrum.

The overwhelming consensus of the public—including almost every major business, labor, and faith organization across the nation—is that the time for reform is now. Take a look at who supports immigration reform and the marginal few who oppose it:

 

CD2_CAP_Cards_V5_1200

 

View the infographic here.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Crystal Patterson at cpatterson@americanprogress.org or 202.478.6350.

 ###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org