CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Angela Kelley on Senate Passage of S. 744

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Following today’s landmark Senate passage of S. 744, the “Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act,” Angela Maria Kelley, Vice President for Immigration Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

Today’s historic 68-32 Senate vote on immigration reform fast-forwards the prospects for robust legislation reaching the president’s desk. The bill passed today reflects the will of the American people and meets the needs of our nation today and in the future by including a path to citizenship for the 11 million undocumented immigrants in our country along with a strategy to address future immigration so we aren’t having this debate again in 10 years.

While the bill passed today isn’t perfect, it does include important provisions to reunite families, expansive opportunities for DREAMers, and a plan for legalization and citizenship that respects our country’s history as a nation of immigrants. This bill will also reap economic benefits whose ripple effects will help improve the economic standing of millions of Americans. It’s been a long journey to today’s victory, and we have plenty of work ahead in the House, but today’s Senate vote solidifies the momentum behind real reform and a brighter future for America. The House of Representatives should act swiftly and deliver similar smart and forward-thinking legislation in the weeks ahead.

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, contact Crystal Patterson at cpatterson@americanprogress.org or 202.478.6350.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org