CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP Experts on the Changing Demographics’ Effect on President Obama’s Re-election

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The nation’s rapidly changing demographics helped President Barack Obama win a second term, reiterating the growing importance of an increasingly diverse America. President Obama surpassed his 2008 performance among Latinos by winning approximately 71 percent of Latino support, according to the most recent impremedia/Latino Decisions poll. This is compared to the 67 percent of Latino support that he won in 2008. ABC polls estimated that 93 percent of African Americans were predicted to vote for President Obama once again. All in all, demographic changes seem to be the driver for yesterday’s election results.

The following Center for American Progress experts are available to comment on the nation’s demographic shifts and the election’s results:

Resources:

To speak to experts, please contact Laura Pereyra at 202.203.8689 or lpereyra@americanprogress.org.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org