CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: The Path to 270 Revisited: The Role of Demographics, Economics, and Ideology in the 2012 Presidential Election

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

By Ruy Teixeira and John Halpin | September 25, 2012

Read the pdf of the report here.

Washington, D.C. — With less than two months to go until the presidential election of 2012, the Center for American Progress released an updated report analyzing the role demographics, economics, and ideology will play in the 2012 elections. The report, by Senior Fellows and Co-Directors of the Progressive Studies Program at American Progress, Ruy Teixeira and John Halpin, concludes that demographics will be a strong force that may tip the electoral balance in some key states despite voters‘ negative perception of the economy. Such a force, made up of communities of color, the millennial generation, professionals, single women and secular voters,  is helping President Obama lead narrowly nationwide and in most of the key battleground states.

Additionally, the new report gives insight into what Gov. Romney’s pick of Paul Ryan to the Republican ticket as the vice presidential nominee means for the electoral race as ideology continues to infuse the race, prompting voters to choose between two competing visions of American society and governance—one that promotes an active role for government in advancing individual opportunity, economic security, and national prosperity; and one that embraces personal responsibility, market forces, and limited government as a means for achieving growth and greater freedom.

While the basic formula of demographics versus economics remains the most important frame for this report’s analysis, the introduction of a strong and clear ideological debate to the campaign adds a layer of complexity to how these two forces will play out among voters across divergent states.

 

To read full report, click here.

To see today’s event with, click here.

Related Resources:

 

To speak with CAP experts on this topic, please contact Laura Pereyra at lpereyra@americanprogress.org or 202.203.8689.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org