CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP Experts on No-Cost Contraception Coverage

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — CAP experts are available to comment on the continuing debate over the Obama administration’s decision to require employers, including religious institutions, to offer health plans that cover contraception. The following key facts and related resources illustrate why the administration’s decision is a tremendous victory for women’s health and why the decision should be upheld.

Key facts:

  • Twenty-eight states already mandate contraception coverage.
  • The president’s plan would exempt 335,000 churches and religious institutions from covering contraception.
  • Polls show that majorities of Americans, including Catholics, favor requiring no-cost access to contraception.
  • A rule has been in place since 2000 mandating that insurance companies who offer prescription coverage also cover contraception—with no exemption for religious institutions. The president’s plan provides for sufficient religious exemptions.

The following CAP experts are available for comment:

Related posts from ThinkProgress.org:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

TV: Lindsay Hamilton at lhamilton@americanprogress.org or 202.483.2675

Radio: Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

 

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org