CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Report Highlights Community Role in Successful Immigrant Integration

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Read the report.

Washington, D.C. — Today the Center for American Progress released, “All Immigration is Local: Receiving Communities and Their Role in Successful Immigrant Integration,” a groundbreaking report that outlines how receiving communities—the places, along with their residents, in which newcomers settle—can overcome the challenges of immigrant settlement and proactively bridge the gap between natives and newcomers.

“As our country becomes more diverse, it is imperative that receiving communities explore and adopt strategies to ease the integration of newcomers for the benefit of all,” said Vanessa Cárdenas, Director of Progress 2050 at the Center for American Progress, during an event marking the release of the report.

The report provides a set of guidelines to help receiving communities identify programs they can emulate and build on. It identifies four key strategies for receiving communities:

  1. Encourage leadership to address the changes take place locally and to manage them effectively
  2. Foster contact between immigrants and the native born
  3. Build partnerships between state and local governments and new residents
  4. Reframe the issues to counter misconceptions about immigrants

The report also gives recommendations for expanding on this work by encouraging national, state, and local policymakers, as well as philanthropic and civic actors, to focus more attention and resources on immigrant-receiving communities.

Read the report.

To speak with CAP experts about this issue, please contact Raúl Arce-Contreras at rarcecontreras@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5318.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org