CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

CAP experts available to comment on recent push in Washington for immigration reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

WASHINGTON, D.C.—This week President Barack Obama reaffirmed his commitment to press ahead this year with immigration reform during a recent meeting with anticipated bill co-sponsors Sens. Charles Schumer (D-NY) and Lindsey Graham (R-SC). And outside of Congress there is growing recognition that immigration reform is needed and is politically beneficial to both parties, who need the support of the growing Latino electorate.

Tens of thousands of people will march on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. on March 21 to call on Congress to pass comprehensive immigration reform. Immigrants and their supporters will travel across the country to ask President Obama to keep his campaign promise to enact reform and to urge Congress not to play politics with an issue that affects every American—legal and undocumented. They will march for a stronger America that respects families and workers, furthers business growth, and heightens national security.

“The time has come for lawmakers on both sides of the aisle to step up and support the forthcoming legislation,” said Angie Kelley, Vice President of Immigration Policy and Advocacy at American Progress.

The following CAP immigration experts will be available this week and through the weekend to provide comment and analysis.

Please contact Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org or 202 344-0404 to speak with them. Para entrevistas en español, favor de comunicarse con Raúl Arce-Contreras al rarcecontreras@americanprogress.org o 202.478.5318

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org