CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Clean-Energy Competitiveness Fact of the Day: March 10, 2010

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

China has enormous potential for a mass market in green technologies, reaching up to $1 trillion a year. By partnering with China and other developing countries, we can help them meet their development needs in an environmentally-friendly way and jumpstart our own clean energy economy. For example, a report by the Center for American Progress and the Asia Society finds cooperation on carbon capture and storage (CCS)—a process that separates and captures carbon dioxide from sources such as coal power plants and stores away from the atmosphere—could accelerate CCS deployment in the United States by 10 years and increase job creation from 127,000 under a business-as-usual scenario, to 940,000 jobs in the United States by 2022 and lead to $18 billion in savings.

For more information on the Clean-Energy Competitiveness Fact of the Day, please contact Suzi Emmerling, 202.481.8224 or   semmerling@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org