CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

NEW STUDY SHOWS HEALTH REFORM WILL CREATE UP TO 4 MILLION JOBS

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

WASHINGTON, DC – A new report being released today by the Center for American Progress and the Leonard D. Schaeffer Center at the University of Southern California shows that health care reform will create up to 4 million more jobs than would be created without reform.

Read the full report here (pdf)

The study combines previous works by Cutler and Sood to forecast the job-creating effects of health care reform. Specifically, the study combines Cutler’s work demonstrating that reform will slow health care cost growth with Sood’s work demonstrating that every 10 percent reduction in excess health care cost growth – a decrease in cost growth from 2.2 percentage points above GDP to 1.98 percentage points – leads to about 120,000 more jobs.

The study concludes that:

  • Health reform will create up to 4 million jobs in the next ten years: The paper finds that health care reform could increase the number of jobs in the United States by about 250,000 to 400,000 per year over the coming decade.
  • Reform will create jobs across industries: By 2016, reform will create more than 200,000 new jobs in manufacturing and nearly 900,000 jobs in services.

Read the full report here (pdf)

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org