CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta Applauds the Passage of the Historic Waxman Markey Bill

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

By John Podesta

"The House passed historic legislation today that will move America to a clean-energy economy, create millions of jobs, reduce our dependence on foreign oil, and cut global warming pollution. There is a winding road in the senate before this bill is the law of the land, but today marks a giant step in the bill’s path to the President’s desk. I congratulate Speaker Pelosi, Chairman Waxman, Chairman Markey and the many members who had a hand in shaping this bill that puts our country on the right path towards a clean- energy future."

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org