CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Moving Toward Equality for Federal Employees

Statement on the Domestic Partner Benefits Announcement

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

June 17, 2009

By Winnie Stachelberg

Today’s announcement is an important step forward for LGBT federal employees and their families. The presidential memorandum signed today gives domestic partners some of the benefits granted to spouses of federal employees. This memorandum shows the president’s desire to provide equality for federal employees, but it is only a first step.

The president and others in the executive branch should work together with Congress to finish the job by passing measures such as the Domestic Partner Benefits and Obligations Act and repealing the Defense of Marriage Act, which would truly ensure equal benefits and rights for federal employees.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org