CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Elizabeth Edwards Joins CAP as Senior Fellow

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – The Center for American Progress today announced that Elizabeth Edwards, New York Times best-selling author, attorney, and advocate, will be joining the Center as a Senior Fellow. Mrs. Edwards will be working on health care issues and will also write occasionally for the "Wonk Room," the Center for American Progress Action Fund’s newly-launched, first-of-its-kind policy rapid-response blog. "Elizabeth is a woman of extraordinary talent, knowledge, and grace,” said John Podesta, President of CAP and CAPAF. “She has proven herself to be one of the most effective, tenacious, and caring spokespeople for progressive policies in the country and it is a distinct honor to have her join the Center for American Progress. We are thrilled to have her bring her talent and commitment to CAP.”

Mrs. Edwards commented on her new position; "As many can attest, I have an opinion on everything. But I am particularly concerned about the state of health care in America and I am grateful to CAP for giving me the chance to continue to advocate for universal and quality health care coverage for all."

In addition to blogging for the Wonk Room, Mrs. Edwards will host policy forums to discuss issues important to hard-working Americans and central to the public policy debate.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org