CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP Experts on Rep. Paul Ryan’s Poverty Speech

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Tomorrow, the following experts from the Center for American Progress will be available to discuss House Budget Committee Chairman Paul Ryan’s (R-WI) speech on poverty.

If past is prologue, CAP experts expect that Rep. Ryan will couch proposals to consolidate and ultimately cut programs that help working-class families in language about empowering communities, streamlining access to services, and promoting work. But pull back the layers, and his proposals are an outgrowth of his radical budget blueprint, which would dramatically exacerbate poverty and inequality. Read more here.

Experts Available:

  • Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress
  • Former Gov. Ted Strickland (D-OH), President of the Center for American Progress Action Fund, Counselor to the Center for American Progress
  • Melissa Boteach, Vice President, Half in Ten and Poverty to Prosperity Program

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, please contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org.

Related resources:

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org