CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Protecting Consumers Five Years After Credit Card Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In 2009, Congress passed and President Barack Obama signed the Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility, and Disclosure Act, or Credit CARD Act. This law established new consumer protections for credit cards and gift cards and limited credit card marketing on college campuses. Please join the Center for American Progress for a discussion about the Credit CARD Act’s accomplishments and steps that policymakers should take to address regulatory gaps that consumers face in the financial system today.

WHO:

Featured speakers:
Neale Mahoney, Assistant Professor of Economics, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Brad Miller, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Dedrick Muhammad, Senior Director of Economic Programs, NAACP
Lauren Saunders, Managing Attorney, National Consumer Law Center

Moderated by:
Joe Valenti, Director of Asset Building, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

May 22, 2014
12:00 p.m. ET – 1:30 p.m. ET

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005
Map & Directions

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org