CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP Experts on The Budget Committee’s Hearing on the War on Poverty

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Tomorrow, Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) is convening a hearing “A Progress Report on the War on Poverty: Lessons from the Frontlines.”  The hearing comes as a follow up to Rep. Ryan’s “listening tour” with low-income families over the past few months, during which Ryan used a fake story to attack the school lunch program, was conspicuously absent in soup kitchens and shelters in his own district, and blamed poverty on “inner-city” men. In anticipation of the hearing, poverty experts from the Center for American Progress and people with first-hand experiences related to the War on Poverty are available to comment.

CAP experts:

First-hand accounts:

These contributors are part of the Our American Story community, a network of low-income families, service providers, and other community leaders working to expand economic opportunity for all through the power of sharing personal experiences.

Related resources:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org