CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka on the Trade Debate

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Tuesday, March 25, the Center for American Progress will host Richard Trumka, the president of the AFL-CIO, for a discussion on the current trade debate. In his remarks, Trumka will lay out the principles that should underlie trade policies that would reduce inequality and support raising wages in the United States and worldwide. Trumka will also discuss why recent proposals for fast-tracking the TransPacific Partnership, or TTP, and the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership, or TTIP, will likely contribute to worsening inequality and job loss.

WHO:

Featured speaker:
Richard Trumka, President, AFL-CIO

Introduction by:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Tuesday, March 25, 2014
9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. ET
Coffee will be served at 9:00 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP to attend this event.

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org