CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Experts to Discuss Impact of Middle East Transitions on Christian Communities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Middle East uprisings and political transitions that began in 2011 have raised questions about political pluralism and support for religious freedom. Over the past several years in the region, some of the oldest Christian communities in the world have faced new challenges resulting from changes in the security, political, legal, and social environment. In places like Iraq, Syria, Egypt, and the Palestinian territories, the conditions have motivated Christians to emigrate.

On Monday, March 24, please join the Center for American Progress for a discussion of the main drivers of these changes, what the trends mean for the Middle East and Christians living in the region, and what the United States and the international community can do.

WHO:

Panelists:
Paul Marshall, Senior Fellow, Center for Religious Freedom, Hudson Institute
Hisham Melhem, Washington DC Bureau Chief, Al Arabiya News Channel
James Zogby, President of the Arab American Institute

Moderator:
Brian Katulis, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Monday, March 24, 2014
12:00 p.m. EST – 1:30p.m. EST
A light lunch will be served at 11:30am.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

RSVP:

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or at 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org