CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Senator Casey to Discuss the Afghan Elections and the U.S. Role Beyond 2014

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Monday, March 10, the Center for American Progress will host an event with Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr. to discuss the Afghan elections, the U.S. role leading up to the elections, and how the U.S.-Afghanistan relationship may evolve post-2014.

In one month, Afghans will go to the polls to elect a new Afghan President. At the same time, the United States and the NATO- International Security Assistance Force continue to draw down their military presence in anticipation of the end of their current mission by December 31, 2014.

An inclusive, transparent and credible election process is a critical milestone for Afghanistan’s future stability and a peaceful political transition is in the security interests of the United States. A failed transition process, on the other hand, puts the Afghan state at risk of further fragmentation and expanded conflict.

WHO:

Welcoming remarks:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Keynote Remarks:
Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr., (D-PA)

Moderator:
Caroline Wadhams, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Monday, March 10, 2014
2:30 p.m. ET – 3:30 p.m. ET

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or at 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org