CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

PRESS CALL: Immigration Reform Is Good for American Workers, Wages, and Our Economic Future

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tanya Arditi
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: tarditi@americanprogress.org

Listen to the recorded call here.

Washington, D.C. — Labor and business don’t often see eye to eye, but in June, leaders locked in agreement on an immigration bill that eventually passed with a strong bipartisan vote. As the immigration reform debate moves to House of Representatives, the impact of reform on the economy and American workers is at the heart of the debate. What impact will legalization and citizenship have on American workers and wages? What will immigration mean for our future prosperity and economic competitiveness? Join Mary Kay Henry, president of SEIU; Ron Nelsen, owner of Pioneer Overhead Door; and Center for American Progress economic expert Patrick Oakford for a press call to discuss these issues.

WHO:

Featured speakers:
Mary Kay Henry, President, Service Employees International Union, or SEIU
Angela Maria Kelley, Vice President, Immigration Policy, Center for American Progress
Ron Nelsen, Owner, President, and General Manager, Pioneer Overhead Door
Patrick Oakford, Researcher, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Thursday, September 12, 2013
1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

DIAL-IN INFORMATION:  

800/909-5202 ; Conference ID #3967879

RSVP:

Please confirm your participation in the call by contacting Tanya Arditi at tarditi@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6258.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org