CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Experts to Discuss the Challenges Facing Small School Districts

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Thursday, August 8, the Center for American Progress will host a conversation on the unique challenges facing these districts. The panel of experts will address how small school districts can take advantage of economies of scale and why across-the-board school-district consolidation may not be the answer to the issues facing these districts. The panel will also shed light on the new ideas, including new governance systems, that may provide better ways for school districts to do more with their education dollars. The event will mark the release of a report by Ulrich Boser titled “Size Matters: A Look at School-District Consolidation.”

WHO:

Featured speakers:
Charles Barone, Policy Director, Democrats for Education Reform
Ulrich Boser, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Doris Terry Williams, Executive Director, Rural School and Community Trust

Moderator:
Cindy Brown, Vice President for Education Policy, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Thursday, August 8, 2013
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:
RSVP for this event →

For more information, contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org, or at 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org