CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Modernizing America’s Infrastructure through the IP Transition

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Monday, July 22, the Center for American Progress will host a panel featuring industry and policy experts to discuss the changes that the U.S. telecommunications networks are currently undergoing. There are contrasting views on the modernization and upgrade of the communications infrastructure to all Internet Protocol networks, including the positive impact of gigabit networks on enhanced service delivery to consumers. Leading experts differ on the appropriate role of private investment, regulatory intervention, and antitrust considerations associated with the Internet Protocol transition and the deployment of gigabit networks. The panelists will discuss the digital transition and how it will impact consumers and industry.

WHO:

Panelists:
David Balto, antitrust and public interest attorney, Law Offices of David Balto
James W. Cicconi, Senior Executive Vice President-External and Legislative Affairs, AT&T
Harold Feld, Senior Vice President, Public Knowledge
Blair Levin, Fellow, The Aspen Institute

Moderator:
Peter Swire, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress; Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology

WHEN:

Monday, July 22, 2013, 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. ET

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP

RSVP to attend this event.

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org