CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: CAP to Host Panel Discussion on U.S. Economic Statecraft in South Asia

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In a region with more than 1.6 billion people, South Asian nations such as India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh present both incredible economic opportunity and vast economic challenges. Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton introduced the concept of “economic statecraft,” a strategy to channel America’s economic and diplomatic strengths to address these types of challenges.

On Monday, June 24, 2013, the Center for American Progress will host a panel discussion exploring how strategy and public-private partnerships between the U.S. government and private-sector investors will play a key role in promoting economic growth and prosperity across the region. How these private companies and governments coordinate their various expertise and resources into a coherent development strategy will contribute to the economic future of the countries of South Asia.

WHO:

Introduction:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Panelists:
Parag Saxena, Founding General Partner and CEO, New Silk Route Partners
Ambassador Marc Grossman, Vice Chairman, The Cohen Group; former U.S. Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan
William Byrd, Afghanistan Senior Expert, United States Institute of Peace
Caroline Wadhams, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Moderated by:
Rich Verma, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Monday, June 24, 2013, 12:00 p.m. ET – 1:30 p.m. ET
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org