CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Mark Mazzetti, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Author, to Discuss New Book on Counterterrorism Tactics, Drone Warfare

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Friday, May 3, join the Center for American Progress for a discussion with Pulitzer Prize-winning author and New York Times national security correspondent Mark Mazzetti on the changing nature of U.S. intelligence gathering and warfare.

In his provocative new book The Way of the Knife, Mazzetti examines the unprecedented counterterrorism tactics used in a post-9/11 era, including targeted killings and unmanned drone strikes. Bringing more than a decade of research and reporting into his work, Mazzetti argues that the most momentous change in American warfare over the past decade has taken place away from the battlefields of Afghanistan and Iraq in the corners of the world where large armies can’t go. The Way of the Knife is the untold story of that shadow war—a campaign that has blurred the lines between soldiers and spies and lowered the bar for waging war across the globe.

Copies of The Way of the Knife will be available for purchase.

WHO:

Featured author:
Mark Mazzetti, author, The Way of the Knife; correspondent, The New York Times

Moderated by:
Ken Gude
, Chief of Staff, Vice President, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Friday, May 3, 2013
12:00 p.m. ET – 1:00 p.m. ET
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event

For additional information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org