CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Reproductive Rights Advocates Join CAP to Discuss Strategies for the Next Generation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – In anticipation of the 40th anniversary of Roe v. Wade, the Center for American Progress will host a lively debate on the strategies reproductive rights activists can use over the next 40 years to secure the full promise of Roe. As our country’s demographics rapidly change, what does Roe mean to the rising electorate? What does the base of supporters look like now and in the future? How will the success in securing near-universal contraceptive coverage affect the landscape? What strategies can be employed—legal, policy, organizing, communications, and more—to engage new supporters and to ensure that Roe provides meaningful protections for all women?

WHO:

  • Tara McGuinness, Senior Vice President for Communications, Center for American Progress; Executive Director, Center for American Progress Action Fund
  • Jessica Arons, Director, Women’s Health & Rights Program, Center for American Progress
  • Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas, Executive Director, National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health
  • Heather Holdridge, Director of Digital Strategy, Planned Parenthood
  • Lynn Paltrow, Executive Director, National Advocates for Pregnant Women
  • Heidi Williamson, Senior Policy Analyst, Women’s Health and Rights Program, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Wednesday, January 16, 2013
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event
For additional information, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org